Skip to Content

Out with the old! Files, of course!

Why should I delete old files?    

Each time you upload an image or document for your website using Assets in Adobe Experience Manager or Media files in WordPress and then publish your page, those files are stored on one of our CAES Datacenter web server. These are the files your visitors see or download.

If you edit a web page and delete a link to a document or another page, or click on an image and delete that from your web page, the files are no longer viewable on your website, but they are STILL on the server and STILL viewable online. Over time your website directory can become cluttered with old unlinked (and unnecessary) files.

Deleting old pages, documents or images helps keep your site organized and prevents visitors from finding outdated or inaccurate information in web searches.

For information on how to audit your images and documents, contact caesweb@uga.edu.